ICC names Babar Azam as “Most Valuable Team of the Tournament”

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the official Men’s T20 World Cup Upstox Most Valuable Team of the Tournament, and much to the joy of many Pakistanis throughout the world, Babar Azam has been named captain.

Cricketers from World Cup winners Australia, runners-up New Zealand, semi-finalists England and Pakistan, as well as Sri Lanka and South Africa, have been included in the squad.

The Most Valuable Team of the Tournament included cricketers from six different teams.

The Australian team included Player of the Tournament David Warner, leg-spinner Adam Zampa, and seamer Josh Hazlewood.

Jos Buttler has been picked as the team’s wicketkeeper while Pakistan’s Babar Azam has been named as the captain, New Zealand left-armer Trent Boult and Sri Lanka star Wanindu Hasaranga – the tournament’s leading wicket-taker – are also in the line-up.

Commentators, former international players, and journalists Ian Bishop (Convenor), Natalie Germanos, Shane Watson, Lawrence Booth – of Wisden, the Daily Mail, and Mail on Sunday – and Shahid Hashmi of Agence France Presse picked the line-up, which includes talents from all cricket teams.

Shaheen Shah Afridi, Pakistan’s left-handed devastating fast bowler, has been named the squad’s 12th player.

Ian Bishop remarked, “As with any team selection, there will be varying opinions and robust discussion on the final composition of the squad. The panel respects that, and we encourage the strong debate that will ensue. This team was incredibly difficult to select over such a highly competitive tournament. Selections were based predominantly on the Super 12 onward to the final.”

The following is the batting order for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 team:

  • David Warner (Australia) – 289 runs at 48.16
  • Jos Buttler (wk) (England) – 269 runs at 89.66, five dismissals
  • Babar Azam (Captain, Pakistan) – 303 runs at 60.60
  • Charith Asalanka (Sri Lanka) – 231 runs at 46.20
  • Aiden Markram (South Africa) – 162 runs at 54.00
  • Moeen Ali (England) – 92 runs at strike rate of 131.42, seven wickets at 11
  • Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka) – 16 wickets at 9.75
  • Adam Zampa (Australia) – 13 wickets at 12.07
  • Josh Hazlewood (Australia) – 11 wickets at 15.90
  • Trent Boult (New Zealand) – 13 wickets at 13.30
  • Anrich Nortje (South Africa) – nine wickets at 11.55
  • 12th: Shaheen Afridi – seven wickets at 24.14

“Pakistan skipper Babar, who was the only batter to cross the 300-run mark during the campaign, leads the side at No. 3.”

“He’s not out against old foes with his 68.” “Three more half-centuries in the Super 12 stages helped seal his team’s spot in the semi-final versus Australia,” it continued.

“And while they were unable to battle past Aaron Finch’s outfit, Babar helped himself to 39 in the first innings to finish his campaign in a typically consistent fashion.”

Shaheen Afridi’s opening overs in Pakistan’s contests with India, Australia, and other nations helped the Men in Green deliver forceful blows to the opposition and, in most cases, helped them win critical matches, according to the ICC.

“Taking his place as 12th man is Pakistan prodigy Shaheen Afridi, who started his tournament in style with a blistering new ball spell against old foes India,” reads the post on the ICC’s website.

“Afridi, 21, removed the talismanic top three trio of Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul and captain Virat Kohli to end with figures of three for 31 and lay the foundations for a memorable victory.

A member of the selection committee told Geo News that Pakistan’s wicketkeeper batsman Mohammad Rizwan deserved to be on the team, but that he wasn’t because it already had three of them: Babar Azam, Jos Buttler, and David Warner.

Rizwan was dropped because there was insufficient place for a fourth opener, according to the committee member. The panelists did, however, acknowledge Rizwan’s significant contributions to the Men in Green during the T20 World Cup.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker